2018 Innovator of the Year Awards

INNOVATOR OF THE YEAR Awards breakfast
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
8 a.m. to 10 a.m.
Crest Hollow Country Club, Woodbury

Innovate Long Island is proud to announce the winners of its third annual Innovator of the Year awards, which recognize the region’s most amazing ideas and the incredible people making them fly. This year’s list includes winners in software development, biotechnology, clean energy, craft food & beverage and invention along with the organizations that are the region’s innovation support system.

Dedicated to the memory of Innovate Long Island founder and publisher John Kominicki, who firmly believed Long Island’s economic vitality depends on its brilliant researchers and risk-taking entrepreneurs, our program will also honor the career-long contributions of 2018 Master of Innovation Michael Faltischek.

The winners to date, including company name and principals, are:

Applied DNA Sciences – James Hayward
Kantian Skincare – Jon and Richard Klein
NeuroGuard – Chad Bouton and Mohamed Ahmed/The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

kidOYO – Devon Lofretto, Melora Loffreto and Bo Feng
Patient Innovations – Ken Greenberg
LegalSoft – Louis DeVito, Jacob Hochendoner and Adam Hussain

Clean Energy
Edgewise Energy – Sammy Chu
Green Framework – Barbara Dutton-Weingarten
Havelide Systems – Stephen Boyd
NextSwitch/BTG – Slawa Solovyov
Unique Technical Services – Joseph Ambrosio

Food & Beverage
Best Market
Don’s Finest Living Foods – Don DiLillo
Five North Chocolate – Benjamin Conard
FoodCubate – Anna Kotler
The Guac Shop – Sergio DeCiantis, Carlos DeCiantis, Matthew Tesoriero and  Patrick O’Halloran

The Shlocker – Tal Berke and Stephanie Cummings
SmartGAME – Joan Bucchino

No Boundaries
Mindyolk – Paul Lipsky
SmartBox – Michael Eller, Ross Schneiderman, Brian Torpey and Christopher Zavala/Northwell Health Labs
The Sensory Room – Adelphi University

Innovation Support System
Bridgeworks – Graham Beck
Composite Prototyping Center – Leonard Poveromo
LaunchPad Huntington – Phil Rugile
LISTnet/Digital Ballpark – Peter Goldsmith and Paul Trapani
Workforce Development Institute – Rosalie Drago

Michael L. Faltischek








All proceeds benefit the journalism and economic advocacy of InnovateLI.com, the voice of Long Island’s innovation economy.


For information on sponsorships and space reservations or reserving seats, tables and display tables, contact Innovate Long Island at 516-314-8982 or via email: marlene.mcdonnell@innovateli.com.