At Old Westbury’s MAC Awards, a new media buffet

Drink it up: Topnotch illustration, writing and media production (including nominee Dan DeAmeller's "One More Shot") will be on display May 1, when SUNY Old Westbury hosts its 12th Annual Student MAC Awards.

They’re rolling out the red carpet, literally, for SUNY College at Old Westbury’s 12th annual Student MAC Awards.

The yearly Media Arts Celebration – which salutes outstanding student work in digital arts, new media, television, radio, print and video – will fill the SUNY Old Westbury Campus Center’s Maguire Theater May 1, beginning with a traditional red-carpet procession at 6 p.m.

All aboard: Enoch Bekoe’s “The Art That Travels,” a retrospective of the NYC subway system, is up for a Best Video Art MAC Award.

More than 80 student nominees are competing for 30 MAC Awards this year, in categories ranging from Best Podcast and Best Radio Show to Best Interactive Project and Best Web Portfolio.

This year’s eight-member panel of judges includes a smorgasbord of industry professionals, including New York Times Senior Staff Editor Vivian Giang, ABC-TV Senior Producer Melia Patria, CBS Sports Radio Associate Producer Peter Bellotti Jr. and Newsday Editor Lawrence Striegel, among others.

Winner: Luis Diaz’s poster advertising the annual MAC Awards is the contest’s first official 2019 winner.

Produced each spring since 2008 by SUNY Old Westbury’s Visual Arts Department and American Studies Department, the MAC Awards feature the best in student writing and production. All SUNY Old Westbury students involved in on-campus TV, radio, video, journalism, digital arts and new media programs and activities are eligible for nomination.

Several programs featured on OWWR Old Westbury Web Radio, the college’s official radio station, which streams audio and video content 24/7 – are among the nominees. Also heavily featured are contributors to The Catalyst, SUNY Old Westbury’s monthly print newspaper, as well as an impressive slate of podcasters, videographers and digital artists.

The official awards program is slated to begin at 7 p.m., following the red carpet procession. More information on the 12th Annual Student MAC Awards, including the full list of 2019 nominees, is available here.